Pedego Electric Bike Review [VIDEO]

After a few days of intensive testing of the Pedego Classic Crusier electric bike, I have put together this video review for you.  This is a real world review based on me riding my normal commute route to work, running errands, and taking it on some steep hills and gravel bike paths.  I feel like I really put the Pedego electric bike through it’s paces and I got a great handle on the pros and cons of this bicycle.

Checkout the video below for the full review!

UPDATE: I mentioned in the video that the kickstand was a little wobbly and it would be hard to use bags on the rack.  The kickstand is adjustable to make it more stable, and there is a bag setup that will work with the battery and rack.

You can download the video here or download the video to iTunes automatically and add the video to your mobile device.

If you decide that a Pedego electric bike is the bike for you, here is a place where you can purchase one.  Purchasing through that link supports Electric Bike Report.  Find out how.

If you live in Northern Arizona, you can purchase Pedego bikes at Flagstaff Sports Exchange.

Was this review helpful?  Do you have any questions?  Please leave your comments and/or questions below.

Thanks!

- Pete

P.S. Don’t forget to sign up for updates from the electric bike world, plus ebike riding and maintenance tips! (upper right hand corner of this site)


Other Articles You Might Like!

Stores I recommend: Amazon, REI, Jenson USA, Bike Trailer Shop, Bike Bag Shop, and Bike Kid Shop.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

9 Comments

Leave a comment
  1. Anonymous October 17, 2010 at 6:52 pm #

    Electric Peddler in Dallas, OR says “Pedego Cruiser is our top selling bike.” This bike makes you look good, feel good and makes people ask, “Where did you get that bike?”

  2. KatyLu Peterson October 18, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    Flagstaff Sports Exchange has Pedegos for sale, rent, or free test drive. They are a blast, and a worthy commuter vehicle. Real attention getters. And I love the company, Dan and Terry are top notch in quick, quality customer service.

  3. DJ October 19, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    Pete,
    Thanks for the review. We at PEDEGO are relentless about our pursuit to make the perfect electric bike.
    The kickstand is adjustable so it can be raised up with a quarter turn twist on each leg which will provide stability. It has 5 different settings so you can set it as you desire. It was designed by MASSLOAD specifically for Pedego.
    Our brakes are designed to provide 70% stopping power to the front brake and 30% to the rear, just like an automobile. Because an electric bike weighs more than a conventional bike and you will likely be traveling at higher speeds, brakes are very important. In fast stop situations, the weight shifts to the front. PEDEGO uses AVID BB7 front brakes and DIA-Compe rear band brakes (specifically designed by DIA-COMPE for us) for optimum stopping power. While going is important, stopping is more important!
    AXIOM Appalachian Pannier bags work great for carrying stuff. They flop over the battery pack and attached in seconds.”

    Details can be found at http://www.pedegoelectricbikes.com.

  4. Kevin Young October 20, 2010 at 2:55 am #

    Nice review. Would have liked to have seen the bike in action rather than just hearing about it, but you covered the bike in good detail. Thanks Pete!

  5. Ryan Cate May 19, 2011 at 1:46 am #

    Is the 500 watt motor rated at peak or nominally? The one I rode did not feel very powerful. I’ve ridden 350 watt motors that have felt stronger.

    • Pedego Technical Support May 19, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

      The Pedego 500 Watt motor is rated at 500 Watts nominally and 750 watts peak. Lesser wattage motors can feel more powerful from a start if they are geared but most geared motors make noise, vibrate and are subject to premature failure.  The gearless motor designed for Pedego is quiet, efficient and has no vibration.  Additionally, we have never had one fail. While is may take slightly longer to get up to their top speed of 20 mph, it is a very quiet and smooth ride.  For larger folks or those who just want more power, we do offer our 48 volt Interceptor models.

      • James July 21, 2013 at 9:32 am #

        I don’t understand why the electric motor on the trike is so noisy. It can be heard 100 ft. away and I am an old guy with marginal hearing. Also because it doesn’t have a traditional differential it pulls to the right.

    • Pedego Technical Support May 19, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

      The Pedego 500 Watt motor is rated at 500 Watts nominally and 750 watts peak. Lesser wattage motors can feel more powerful from a start if they are geared but most geared motors make noise, vibrate and are subject to premature failure.  The gearless motor designed for Pedego is quiet, efficient and has no vibration.  Additionally, we have never had one fail. While is may take slightly longer to get up to their top speed of 20 mph, it is a very quiet and smooth ride.  For larger folks or those who just want more power, we do offer our 48 volt Interceptor models.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Electric Bikes - Electric Bike News - Reviews - Trends - Information - October 18, 2010

    [...] on 18 October 2010. Tags: Electric Bikes, Pedego Pedego Electric Bike ReviewThe Electric Bike Report put together a video review of the Pedego Electric Bike. It’s uploaded on Youtube, and you can [...]

Leave a Reply