IZIP E3 Metro Electric Bike in for Review [VIDEO, Pictures & Specs]

IZIP Metro Electric Bike out in the redrocks of Sedona Arizona

Looking for an electric bike that is comfortable and can carry some cargo?  The IZIP E3 Metro electric bike might be the ride for you.

The IZIP Metro just rolled in for review at Electric Bike Report and I want to share a VIDEO and some pictures of the bike with you and get you ready for the full review that will be coming soon.  Here are some specs of the bike from the IZIP website:

“Power, range and speed. With the new E3 Metro, you can haul big loads of gear with ease. This real-deal electric powered cargo bike incorporates an integrated wooden rear rack and porteur front basket/rack system.

With our new PAS/TAG+ system you get to choose how you want to cruise. Designed to give you options of either simple throttle or pedal assist power, allowing you to amplify your human input at three different levels of electric assist if you choose. Our high torque 500 watt Currie Electro-Drive® brushless hubmotor is powered by a large capacity Li-ion type 36V in frame battery for perfect weight distribution and balance which makes it child’s play to move you and all your cargo easily through even the hilliest terrain.”

Top Speed: 20 mph / 32 km/h
Range: 20 – 35 Miles / 32 – 56 km

Price: $2,499

And here is video and pics, enjoy!

You can download the video here or download the video to iTunes automatically and add the video to your mobile device.

IZIP Metro Electric Bike out in the redrocks of Sedona Arizona

Here is what the step thru version of the Metro looks like.

The IZIP Metro has some nice carrying capacity and uses an aluminum frame.

The IZIP Metro front cargo rack can carry alot.

The IZIP Metro rear rack is welded to the frame to make it extremely sturdy.

The 36V 10ah lithium ion battery is stored in the downtube of the IZIP Metro.

IZIP Metro 500 watt high torque brushless hub motor.

Avid BB5 disc brakes front & rear on the IZIP Metro.

The IZIP Metro uses pedal assist (Pedelec) and/or throttle operation. The gear shifter is on the left side of the handlebar.

The IZIP Metro throttle on the right side of the handlebar.

The IZIP Metro charging port & sturdy connection of the front rack to the headtube of the frame.

The IZIP Metro comes with a suspension seatpost to smooth out the bumps.

This is the cap on the downtube that can be accessed to remove the battery & controller on the IZIP Metro.

I will be riding this bike a lot in the next few weeks to get a feel for the pros and cons of this electric bike.  Stay tuned for the full review!

And here is a company called Fresh Food Bike that uses IZIP Metro’s to deliver food from Whole Foods Market to people in the surrounding area.  Great idea!

Do you have any questions or comments about the IZIP Metro?  Please leave them in the comments section below.

Thanks!

-Pete

P.S. Don’t forget to join the Electric Bike Report community for updates from the electric bike world, plus ebike riding and maintenance tips.


Other Articles You Might Like!

Stores I recommend: Amazon, REI, Jenson USA, Bike Trailer Shop, Bike Bag Shop, and Bike Kid Shop.

Tags: , , , , ,

14 Comments

Leave a comment
  1. Nanadeanna November 10, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    What about electric trikes?  I would love to hear from some people who have them.  I tried one last weekend and the back wheels kept hitting my legs.

    • Pete at Electric Bike Report November 10, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

      You might want to checkout this article.  See the comments too because someone shared their story about a trike: 
      http://electricbikereport.com/e-bike-stories-tale-of-the-bionic-granny/

      • Artful_mark November 10, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

        Hi Pete. I have the Currie Via Rapido. I just asked my bike shop to put on a rack or front basket to help distribute the load on my rear battery and rear motor Rapido. His opinion was weight was not meant to carried on this type of bike. My other local bike shop owner also feels weight should be carried in the back on all bikes to help prevent tipping over and forward. Here is what I would really appreciate from you on this great forum: How does this bike handle with all that weight being fore on the bike. Battery is forward and cargo rack is forward and low. Considering the good clip you can easily achieve on an electric bike with a motor of this (or any) size. Quick stops on a front-loaded bike would be something I would be leery of. One bike shop owner felt like any additional weght on the front of my Rapido, would increase instability. BTW, he’s not against e-bikes, and even sells  and services them. For my part, I’ve tried to do little things to put weight forward, like keeping my heavy 6 foot cable lock forward and using a bulkier headlight ( I use a Stanley Squidbrite LED shoplite, works like a charm and is easy to charge to boot). I ‘ve considered adding extra bottle cage on the downtube and even front touring panniers to help distribute grocery weight. Now, I’m not sure at all. Thanks!

        • Pete at Electric Bike Report November 11, 2011 at 8:49 am #

          Hi Mark, Adding weight to any bike will make it handle differently and you should be ready for that.  I think you would be able to add a rack or front basket and experiment with how much weight you feel you can handle in the front.  Maybe you only use that area for light bulky cargo or maybe you will find that you can carry heavier stuff comfortably.  

          Touring bikes carry load front and rear but the riders should understand that the bikes handling will be slow and they need to anticipate braking before they would on a normal bike.  

          The Metro that I am testing is interesting because the cargo rack is bolted to the head tube and does not turn with the front wheel.  I think this will enable it to carry heavier loads.  I will let you know in the full review.

          I hope that helps.

  2. Cs Simpson November 10, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    It’s a great looking practical bike, it’s a shame they didn’t put a similar basket on the back for asthetics But I am sure it wouldn’t be hard to put something there after market.

  3. Anonymous November 10, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    Is there a way to access the battery, for instance if it needs to be replaced? I can’t discern any access panels on the downtube.

    • Pete at Electric Bike Report November 10, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

      Yes there is a cap on the bottom of the downtube that can be removed.  I just added a picture that shows that.

  4. Pete at Electric Bike Report November 10, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    Thanks Bert!

  5. Dukematisse November 11, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    I test rode a couple of I-Zips new bikes a couple weeks ago here in San Francisco… 

    The new motors are geared 500 Watt 8 Fun motors – the same ones Busetti was using for their Big 50: very high torque – had no problem getting up some steep SF hills. 

    I really enjoyed their peddle assist; very smooth and responsive. 

    Glad someone is putting that great motor to use with quality components… looking forward to your review. 

  6. Rlbaers November 11, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    This looks interesting and pricey.  What about electric 3 wheel cargo bikes like Christiania, which has a front cargo bay that is very flexible for live and dead loads?
    Ron Baers

  7. Mike L. December 1, 2011 at 11:18 pm #

    Please excuse me if you have already addressed this in any of your other reports, but I am new to your blog.  I live in San Francisco and our City is notorious for having a lot of bike theft.  I am wondering what kind of lock(s) you recommend for a bike like this.  I am seriously considering investing in a iZip bike and I imagine the cost of these bikes would make them very attractive to would be thieves.  Thanks.

    • Pete at Electric Bike Report December 2, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

      Hi Mike, I am working on a new post to address locks and tips on how to keep your electric bike safe.  It should be up in the next couple of day.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Electric Bike Review – IZIP E3 Metro | Electric Bike Report | Electric Bike, Ebikes, Electric Bicycles, E Bike, Reviews - December 23, 2011

    [...] Make sure you check out the video and pictures with the features of the IZIP E3 Metro. [...]

Leave a Reply